Skilled Nominated visa (Subclass 190)

The Skilled Nominated Subclass 190 visa is a permanent General Skilled Migration visa which requires nomination by a State or Territory Government.
In order to apply for a Skilled Nominated Subclass 190 visa, you must first lodge an Expression of Interest through SkillSelect and be invited by the Department of Immigration to apply.
Once you are invited to apply for a skilled visa, you must lodge your application within 60 days, otherwise the invitation lapses. Accordingly, it is very important that you have all required documentation prepared to lodge as soon as possible after receiving the invitation.

Key requirements for Skilled nominated visa (Subclass 190) are:

  • Lodge an EOI and be invited to apply
  • Be nominated by a State or Territory Government
  • Meet the pass mark in the skilled migration points test – currently 65.
  • Be aged between 18 and 44 inclusive
  • Pass Skills Assessment in an occupation on the State/Territory Nominated Occupations List
  • Have Competent English or higher
  • Meet health and character requirements

190 visa requirements:

have an occupation on the relevant skilled list
have a suitable skills assessment for the occupation
be invited to apply for this visa
satisfy the points test

It is a permanent visa. It means you may stay in Australia permanently.

Note:  The five year travel restriction only prevents re-entry into Australia after the expiry of the five year period, after which time (in order to re-enter Australia), a Resident Return visa or other suitable visa will need to be obtained. It does not affect holders of this visa who are inside Australia (who are allowed to remain indefinitely).

When your 190 visa is granted, you can:

  • stay in Australia indefinitely
  • work and study in Australia (without restriction)
  • travel to and from Australia for five years from the date the visa is granted
  • enrol in Medicare (Australia’s universal health care scheme)
  • apply for Australian citizenship (subject to eligibility)
  • sponsor eligible relatives for a variety of temporary and permanent Australian visas

When you are looking to obtain 189 visa, this is a process you will have to go through

Step 1: Get a skills assessment and pass English test.

Check that you meet the key eligibility requirements set by the Department of Home Affairs for skilled migration. This includes age, points required, nominated occupation, and English language competency.

Skills recognition is one of the most important steps, where your work experience and qualifications will be tested as if suitable for Australian standards.

Step 2: Submit an expression of interest (EOI) via Skill Select

Lodge an Expression of Interest (EOI) to register your interest in skilled migration with the Department of Home Affairs through SkillSelect. The EOI is not a visa application and is only an indication that you will like to be considered for a skilled visa.

Apply for nomination from State Government. Application processing times are currently up to three months depending on the quality of your application. You will receive an outcome noting whether or not you have been offered nomination. State nomination does not mean your visa has been approved. This can only be done by the Department of Home Affairs.

If the State Government offers you nomination, you will receive a notification of outcome and an invitation to apply for your visa through Skillselect. You will then be able to apply for your visa with the Department of Home Affairs.

Step 3: Lodge application

You may include family in your 189 visa application.

  • include family members in your application when you apply
  • add family members to your application after you apply but before we decide on your visa

For 189 visa, your family members are:

  • your partner
  • your dependent child or stepchild
  • your partner’s dependent child or stepchild
  • the dependent child or stepchild of your or your partner’s dependent child or stepchild

You can include members of the family unit in your application if they currently hold an eligible visa. You must include each family member who is eligible to apply for this visa at the time you lodge your application.  You can’t add family members after you have submitted your application.

You can include family members who no longer meet the standard definition of member of the family unit provided they hold an eligible visa that was granted on the basis that they were a member of your family unit. This provision would apply, for example, if you want to include a child in your application who has turned 23 years of age since they were granted an eligible visa

Family members who apply for the visa with you must meet our health and character requirements.

Family members who do not apply for the visa with you might also have to meet the requirements.

You can be in or outside Australia​ when you are loading your 189 visa application. Application lodged in Australia, will give you a bridging visa. Keep in mind EOI is not an application. To get bridging visa you must be invited and apply for visa application.

How much cost visa to Australia

Second instalment

You will need to pay an extra charge called a second instalment for any family member aged 18 years or older who:

  • applies for the visa with you, and
  • has less than Functional English

If you need to pay the second instalment for a family member, they will be eligible for English